What to Read Next…Part 2

Teens are a BIG part of our library, and we always get excited about new books coming out because we know they’ll be by to get their names on the waiting lists. With all of the tech possibilities in young peoples’ lives these days, you’d think that more of them would be downloading eBooks or audiobooks. But they like real books, books they can take home, books they can break out while waiting for the bus, and books they can fall asleep devouring. So what are some of the exciting new or soon-to-be new releases for young adults this December? We’ve chosen a few gems…

A VERY LARGE EXPANSE OF SEA by Tahereh Mafi

Mafi’s SHATTER ME series came out around the same time as THE HUNGER GAMES, and readers took these books and ran with them, excited about strong female protagonists, and exciting post-apocalyptic settings. But A VERY LARGE EXPANSE OF SEA is a million miles away from that. Mafi tells the tale of a sixteen-year-old Muslim girl living in a post 9/11 America who uses music and break-dancing to ease some of her frustration with the world. Mafi says this is her most autobiographical book to date–including the fact that she used to break dance in high school. If you follow her on social media, you’d never expect this very fashionable new mom to know anything about break dancing (she’s married to fellow YA author Ransom Riggs), but wouldn’t you know it, she posted recent video doing exactly that. She still has the moves all these years later, and this book is ready to take the world by storm. It will appeal to contemporary fiction readers, as well as any teen who feels they don’t fit into their world.

TOWER OF DAWN by Sarah J. Maas

The latest in the THRONE OF GLASS series is TOWER OF DAWN by best-selling author Sarah J. Maas. This book already has a waiting list in our library, and will probably not linger on the shelves once the list dwindles. Fans love, love, love her lightning-paced fantasy novels, and the strong female protagonists who weave their way through her stories, and this book will surely be another fan-favourite soon enough. Maas has a fantastic website, with lots of interesting things from playlists to go along with her books, to detailed maps of the worlds she writes about. If you’re looking for a series to get readers started on, you won’t go wrong picking this book up along with the others.

WHAT IF IT’S US by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

Both Albertalli and Silvera are best-selling authors in their own rights, but together, they make a powerhouse team, and WHAT IF IT’S US has had a strong social media following since they announced they’d been penning something together. It’s a summer romance–with a bit of a twist, and will appeal to readers of both contemporary YA, and those looking for more diversity in their stories. A few interesting things to note about the authors…Silvera claims to be tall for no particular reason, and Albertalli is an extraordinarily picky eater. For those reasons alone, you have to know this book will be a good laugh (and maybe a few tears….).

DEAR EVEN HANSEN by Val Emmich

Based on the hit Broadway show by the same name, DEAR EVAN HANSEN is sure to be a hit with readers as well. Emmich wrote this novel with help from the creators of the show, which tells the story of a boy who finds himself embroiled in a huge lie he never meant to tell, and the good that comes of it…eventually. The songs in this musical are everywhere, and readers will probably come to this book because they’ve seen the play, or at least heard some of the score. But they’ll be sure to come back to this book again and again. Emmich is a writer, singer-songwriter, and actor, so he gets the intricacies of the work, and will hopefully gain a few new fans along the way. We’re sure that readers will think “today’s going to be an amazing day” if you put this book under the tree.

Join us tomorrow for our last installment of What to Read Next, when we’ll be sharing some new books for kids.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.