A Day in the Life of an Adult Services and Outreach Coordinator!

a-day-in-the6My name is Caroline, and I’m the Adult Services and Outreach Coordinator. I like to arrive early, because that’s my nature, and then I typically spend the first hour performing opening duties, like emptying the blue return box, checking in materials, and putting returned DVDs away. I usually have emails to follow up on, and might spend a few minutes returning phone calls or making appointments.

Then, I spend the rest of the morning planning for my programs. That might involve scanning Pinterest to find great craft ideas, trying out those ideas, doing research on Google for programs and displays, and I also make posters for upcoming programs.

After lunch, I’ll prepare for any programs I might have in the afternoon or evening,  and then work on the circulation desk for an hour circulating materials, answering reference questions, making book suggestions, and helping with research. It can very busy!

You might not realize it, but we make visits to home bound patrons to deliver books. It’s not just about dropping off materials–it usually involves spending a little time with them, as we might be one of their only visitors that week. And once I return from my deliveries, I spend the next two hours doing one-on-one tech tutoring. This service is so popular with our patrons, we often book several weeks in advance. I answer questions about whatever device they would like to learn about, and we spend time learning specific skills during their hour-long session.

Sometimes, I have evening or weekend programs, which means I need to spend about 45 minutes setting up and making sure everything is ready. Being prepared means the program will run well, and everyone will have fun, or be informed.

It’s an interesting position, and every day brings something new!

You can find out more about our staff and what we do all day by coming back tomorrow.

oplw

Leave a Reply

