Bookshelves and Other Fake Things

I must admit, I envy people who have endless shelves of books in their homes. As someone who loves books, it also shames me to admit I don’t have any. Nope. Not one shelf. I have boxes with books in them, random baskets where I’ve tucked away a book or two, but in general….I am book-free.

BookRiot just did a really fun piece on “Shelf Shame“. Now, this typically is about those people who have perfect shelves lined with books that are color-coded, or placed by size, or genre, with just the right number of quirky knick-knacks placed among the spines.

Alice-Burton-bookshelf-collage-1-768x384Alice Burton’s Bookselves.

There are whole Pinterest boards devoted to beautiful bookshelves, and people who regularly post Instagram photos of special books on their shelves. Am I envious? A little bit, but mostly, I’m just glad I don’t have to dust/sort/put away books as a collection grows. I can only imagine that some of these people have to move once their book collection gets too big. Is that too many books? You decide.

Leave a Reply

