Do You Have GOOSEBUMPS?

This past weekend, I was watching a movie when a trailer at the beginning caught my attention. It was for GOOSEBUMPS, the Movie, coming out October 16 in theatres.

R.L.Stine is the author of the well-loved scary series called GOOSEBUMPS, and I know these are super popular in our library, so I was intrigued by the trailer. However, it surprised me that the movie immediately referenced the books…something which I’m pretty sure the books don’t do, so I wondered what this was going to be about. Apparently, the movie is not so much an adaptation of the popular series, but something that is counting on the popularity of the series to sell tickets.

Will it be scary? Probably. Will kids flock to the theatres to see it?  I’m not so sure…with a cast that looks a little older than the kids at which the books are aimed, I think maybe they hit the market a little bit off. Think your teen will want to go and see a movie called Goosebumps? No matter how much they loved the series growing up, I’m betting on no.

Maybe this will prove me wrong.

Leave a Reply

