The Martian

One of the most exciting books I read last year was THE MARTIAN by Andy Weir, and now, it’s going to be a movie released at the end of 2015, starring Matt Damon.

18007564THE MARTIAN is about a crew of astronauts who are living and working on Mars, trying to establish the means for others to eventually inhabit the planet. But when a powerful dust storm forces them to leave suddenly, one of the astronauts–Mark Watney—is believed to be dead, and is left on the planet alone.

NASA discovers he’s still alive only after it’s too late for his crew to return for a rescue mission. So now, the world watches as Mark Watney struggles to survive while NASA scrambles to put together a rescue mission that will be years in the future.

I loved this book, even while the opening was quite technical and a little tedious at times, Weir put together a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering if they can save Watney in time. I”m very excited about the star-studded cast for the movie-version out in November of this year. This is sci-fi without the creatures and hyper-speed, totally plausible if we could get people there safely in the first place.

Have you read this novel, and are you anticipating the movie release?

6 thoughts on “The Martian

  1. so i haven’t read the boo but i have been seeing it on shelves and heard some talk about the movie. but your summary really make me wanna take a second look at it. i mean how is the astronaut surviving on the planet without NASA? how long does he have to live? And would you really just leave a man behind like that? i feel like this is going to make it on my reading list for next month thanks 🙂

    • I know! It’s a crazy good book, and I didn’t know they were making it into a movie either until just recently. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did!

  2. I didn’t know this was already being made into a movie! I still have it on my TBR list and I’ve heard nothing but good things, so I think I’ll have to pick it up ASAP!

Leave a Reply

