Star Wars Fans—Prepare to Laugh!

vader

For fans of Star Wars, Jeffrey Brown‘s latest graphic novel VADER’S LITTLE PRINCESS has arrived at the library! And I must say, all of us had a good chuckle over quite a few of the pages inside.  This isn’t really a children’s book, not because of any unsuitable content, but because the humour is something young fans of Star Wars might not get just yet. (Probably because many of the younger readers are smack-dab in the middle of their own “whatever” phases. Seeing Princess Leia say it to Darth Vader is something that shouldn’t be missed, however.)

If you’re looking for a few laughs and you’re a fan of Star Wars, this little book is one you need to pick up and read! Brown takes all the seriousness out of Star Wars, but leaves the ideas intact so that you’ll smile and identify with poor Vader’s problems.

LOVED IT!

Twilight Graphic Novel

For those Twilight fans out there, Entertainment Weekly is just about to reveal that a graphic novel version of the first book in the series is being created.  If you are a fan of graphic novels, this will not disappoint and author Stephenie Meyer is said to be heavily involved in the process.

Artist Young Kim is working on the story and has chosen to illustrate the characters closer to the description in the book, so if you are looking for an exact copy of Kristen Stewart or Robert Pattinson, you’ll be disappointed.  However, a quick peek at one of the panels shows that it is very well done.

twilight-manga_l11

So, we’ll wait to see how well this novel does, but if the past dictates any sort of pattern, this should be a new and fantastic way for fans to immerse themselves into another part of Forks.  Enjoy!

Published in: on July 16, 2009 at 7:04 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

Coloring books for adults?

Are we forced to read novels just because we are adults? Should children only look at picture books? Or can we expand on what is the perceived use of a book? For example, there seems to be a bit of an uproar about graphic novels being aimed at young adults / teens only. In our library, I must admit that we house the majority of the graphic novels in our young adult section and the rest fall into a slightly easier version, and are therefore placed in juvenile fiction. Why are there no graphic novels for adults? Some would say that many of the young adult manga or graphic novels are actually more age appropriate for adults, due to the explicit nature of the artwork. But, adults are supposed to read “real” books, right?

What about the idea of coloring books for adults? The Japanese seem to be much more interested in allowing people to remain creative and express themselves long after they leave the playground. They have developed a line of adult coloring books that has taken off in that country.

There are books for people who are looking to relax, such as this meditative coloring book:

Or how about learning human anatomy while being a bit creative, with this book called Coloring Guide to Human Anatomy by Alan Twietmeyer and Thomas McCracken:

Or even an electronic coloring book aimed specifically at men by the makers of Nintendo DS :


You can find a fabulous article here about the whole exciting topic. There are links to the books as well. Who knows….you might find your inner child on one of these creative pages!

Comic Books vs. Graphic Novels

Today is the birthday of American cartoonist Matt Groening, creator of the television series, The Simpsons.

groening_2.jpg
Although comic books were quite popular once (I’m sure that many of us grew up reading them religiously as kids!), the younger generation is so media savvy that you might be hard pressed to find any young ones that actually still read them. Comic book stores still pop up every now and then, but they tend to sell the classics, as well as newer versions of the ones we loved, aimed at the older generation who would remember them. Then, there are the comics that are based on new superheroes, ones that appeal to a new generation, with more current technology and topics more relevant to today’s youth. But, The Simpsons is still something that we get a lot of requests for at the library.

simpsons-1.gif

Of course, we do carry Simpsons books (along with Garfield, For Better and for Worse, and Dilbert), but we don’t actually call them comic books. Some are found in the picture book section of the library, most in the humour area of the adult books. So, if you come in and ask for comic books, we’ll probably tell you that we don’t carry any, but then we’ll suggest these as options. However, recently, we’ve had some new types of books enter our system and they are becoming more and more popular with the young people who come in for books. These books are the new generation of comic books known as graphic novels.
Graphic novels actually include a wide variety of items. They are found in the children’s area as well as the young adult section and have a varied assortment of themes and presentations. There are graphic versions now of The Hardy Boys done by Scott Lobdell, a new way to draw in younger readers of this classic series. There are also more and more leveled readers being created in a graphic style for young readers who are learning to read, such as The Twisted Tales by Kitty Richards.
twisted.gifhardy-boys.gif
Young adult readers are taking to something called Manga, which is the Japanese word for comic books, although we are calling them graphic novels at the library. The artwork in these is very unique, very stylized and the stories can be quite complex, so these books are very sought after by teens, such as The Secret Chaser, by Tamayo Akiyama.

secret-chaser.gif
However, one little note about the manga graphic novels, is that they can be just that….graphic. Some of the artwork tends to be a bit explicit so these are not for the very young and at the library, we only keep these in the young adult section.
We also have a few new selections in the art section of our library to help those with an artistic flair who might want to try their hand at creating some of this stylized artwork. For example, “Create Your Own Graphic Novel” by Mike Chinn is quite popular and I’m sure there will be more titles added to our catalogue as this becomes even more popular.
create-your-own-2.gif
Its hard to say where this might go, as far as novels are concerned, but for now, it is a new and exciting style of book that is great demand.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers